A New US-President

Impacts on the Arab World

Time


Monday, 23 November 2020, 17:00 - 18:30 (CET)

Registration for the Zoom-Webinar: fanizadeh@remove-this.vidc.org.
You will receive the data for the Zoom Webinar in the morning of 23 November 2020 and after personal registration.

Livestream on the VIDC Facebook Channel

Speakers


Rabab el Mahdi

American University Cairo, Egypt

Rima Majed

American University Beirut, Lebanon

Omar Dahi

Hampshire College, Amherst, United States

Adam Hanieh

SOAS, London, United Kingdom

Helmut Krieger

University Vienna, Austria

Joe Biden, Middle East, Arab World, VIDC

© White House Photo / Alamy Stock Foto

The US elections on the 3rd of November also determined future strategic guidelines of US-foreign policy. As a global power, the Arab world is of fundamental importance for the US ever since the end of the Second World War.The past administration under Donald Trump was no exception to this rule. By systematically escalating the dynamics of confrontation with Iran, the continuation of the military intervention in Syria or the recognition of occupied territories such as East Jerusalem and the Golan Heights, the Trump administration tried to further enshrine strategic baselines in the Arab world. The contrast with previous US foreign policy is particularly clear in questions of the recognition of territories occupied by Israel according to UN Security Council resolutions. Represented as war on terror, old alliances around Israel and Saudi Arabia should be adapted to a changing global and regional environment.

Given the deep societal, economic and social crisis the US is facing, the question arises what these fault lines of US-American policies in the Arab world will include in the future. How has the new administration to change strategic guidelines in light of an increasing multipolarity of world politics? What does an empire in crisis imply for the Arab region?

Over the last years, millions of people went to the streets in countries such as Lebanon, Iraq or Sudan to claim their fundamental rights. These revolts have challenged the different regimes and, hence, fundamentally questioned existing political, social, and economic power relations in the region. How are these protests linked to US-foreign policy in the region? Which political perspectives have the revolts developed? In which way do these social movements undermine the US policy of normalisation between Arab regimes and Israel? How does the war in Syria still shape the protests?

By focussing on a regional perspective with particular references to the developments in Palestine, Syria, Lebanon, and Egypt, these questions will extensively be discussed at our online event. 

Discussants

Omar Dahi

is an associate professor of economics at Hampshire College and research associate at the Political Economy Research Institute, University of Massachusetts Amherst. He has published in academic outlets such as the Journal of Development Economics, Applied Economics, Southern Economic Journal, Political Geography, Middle East Report, Forced Migration Review, and Critical Studies on Security. His last book was South-South Trade and Finance in the 21st Century: Rise of the South or a Second Great Divergence (co-authored with Firat Demir). Dahi serves as a co-editor of e-zine Jadaliyya, has served on the editorial collective of Middle East Report and is a founding member of the Beirut School of Critical Security Studies working group at the Arab Council for the Social Sciences (ACSS). Dahi is also the co-founder and director of Security in Context , an initiative that promotes critical research and policy analysis around key questions related to peace and conflict, political economy, development, the politics of in/security and militarism, particularly as they intersect with issues related to emerging technologies, mobility, infrastructure, climate change and geopolitics.

Adam Hanieh

teaches in the Department of Development Studies at SOAS, University of London, with a research focus on the political economy of the Middle East. His most recent book is Money, Markets, and Monarchies: The Gulf Cooperation Council and the Political Economy of the Contemporary Middle East (Cambridge University Press, 2018), which was awarded the 2019 British International Studies Association, International Political Economy Group Book Prize.

Rabab el Mahdi

is Associate Professor of Political Science at the American University in Cairo.  She earned her PhD from McGill University in Montreal, where she wrote her dissertation on the impact of neo-liberal economic reconstruction on changing patterns of state-civil society relations in Egypt and Bolivia. Her field of specialization is comparative political economy and development, with a focus on Latin America and the Middle East. El Mahdi’s research interests cover the areas of state-society relations, social movements and resistance. Before joining AUC, she worked for several developmental organizations, including NGOs and UN agencies. She is also an activist with a number of opposition groups of the Egyptian Left. El-Mahdi is a frequent commentator on AJE, BBC, CNN, ABC and writes op-eds for both Egyptian and international newspapers.

Rima Majed

is an Assistant Professor of Sociology at the Sociology, Anthropology and Media Studies Department at the American University of Beirut (AUB). As a political sociologist, her work focuses on the fields of social inequality, social movements, social identities, sectarianism, conflict and violence.
Majed has completed her PhD at the University of Oxford where she conducted her research on the relationship between structural changes, social mobilization, and sectarianism in Lebanon. Prior to that, she has worked as a Program Assistant and a Senior Researcher at the United Nations Development Program – Arab States Bureau. She is the author of numerous articles and op-eds. Her work has appeared in Mobilization, Global Change, Peace & Security, Routledge Handbook on the Politics of the Middle East, Global Dialogue, Idafat: The Arab Journal of Sociology, Al Jumhuriya, and Al Jazeera English.

Helmut Krieger

is a social scientist, researcher and senior lecturer at the Department of Development Studies at the University of Vienna, as well as a consultant to the VIDC Global Dialogue. His main areas of research are development policies in war zones, the antagonism between Israel and Palestine, movements of political Islam in the Arab world, critical state theories and postcolonial theory formation. Currently, he serves as the project coordinator of KnowWar (Knowledge Production in Times of Flight and War – Developing Common Grounds for Research in/on Syria, see www.know-war.net/), a collaboration between the Syrian Center for Policy Research, Mousawat, Birzeit University, the University of Klagenfurt, and the University of Vienna.

Ein neuer US-Präsident

Auswirkungen auf die arabische Welt

Zeit


Montag, 23. November 2020, 17:00 - 18:30 Uhr (CET)

Anmeldung für das Zoom-Webinar: fanizadeh@remove-this.vidc.org.
Die Daten für das Zoom-Webinar erhalten Sie am Vormittag des 23. November 2020 und nach persönlicher Anmeldung.

Livestream auf dem VIDC Facebook Channel

Mitwirkende


Rabab el Mahdi

American University Cairo, Ägypten

Rima Majed

American University Beirut, Libanon

Omar Dahi

Hampshire College, Amherst, Vereinigte Staaten

Adam Hanieh

SOAS, London, Vereinigtes Königreich

Helmut Krieger

University Vienna, Österreich

Joe Biden, Middle East, Arab World, VIDC

© White House Photo / Alamy Stock Foto

Podiumsdiskussion in Englisch

Die US-Wahlen am 3. November bestimmten auch die künftigen strategischen Leitlinien der US-Außenpolitik. Als Weltmacht ist die arabische Welt für die USA seit dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges von fundamentaler Bedeutung, und auch die bisherige Regierung unter Donald Trump bildete hier keine Ausnahme. Durch die systematische Eskalation der Konfrontationsdynamik mit dem Iran, die Fortsetzung der militärischen Intervention in Syrien oder die Anerkennung der besetzten Gebiete wie Ost-Jerusalem und die Golanhöhen versuchte die Trump-Administration, strategische Grundlinien in der arabischen Welt weiter zu verankern. Besonders deutlich wird der Kontrast zur bisherigen US-Außenpolitik bei Fragen der Anerkennung der nach Resolutionen des UN-Sicherheitsrates von Israel besetzten Gebiete. Als Krieg gegen den Terror dargestellt, sollten alte Bündnisse um Israel und Saudi-Arabien an ein sich veränderndes globales und regionales Umfeld angepasst werden.

Angesichts der tiefen gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Krise, in der sich die USA befinden, stellt sich die Frage, was diese Verwerfungen der US-amerikanischen Politik in der arabischen Welt in Zukunft bedeuten. Wie muss die neue Regierung angesichts einer zunehmenden Multipolarität der Weltpolitik die strategischen Leitlinien ändern? Was bedeutet ein Imperium in der Krise für die arabische Region?

In den letzten Jahren gingen Millionen von Menschen in Ländern wie dem Libanon, dem Irak oder dem Sudan auf die Straße, um ihre Grundrechte einzufordern. Diese Aufstände haben die verschiedenen Regime herausgefordert und damit die bestehenden politischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Machtverhältnisse in der Region grundlegend in Frage gestellt. In welchem Zusammenhang stehen diese Proteste mit der US-Aussenpolitik in der Region? Welche politischen Perspektiven haben die Revolten entwickelt? In welcher Weise untergraben diese sozialen Bewegungen die US-Politik der Normalisierung zwischen arabischen Regimen und Israel? Wie prägt der Krieg in Syrien noch immer die Proteste?

Durch die Fokussierung auf eine regionale Perspektive mit besonderem Bezug auf die Entwicklungen in Palästina, Syrien, Libanon und Ägypten werden diese Fragen in unserer Online-Veranstaltung ausführlich diskutiert.

Diskussionsteilnehmer*innen

Omar Dahi

ist außerordentlicher Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften am Hampshire College und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Forschungsinstitut für politische Ökonomie an der Universität von Massachusetts Amherst. Er hat in akademischen Fachzeitschriften wie dem Journal of Development Economics, Applied Economics, Southern Economic Journal, Political Geography, Middle East Report, Forced Migration Review und Critical Studies on Security veröffentlicht. Sein letztes Buch hieß South-South Trade and Finance in the 21st Century (Süd-Süd-Handel und Finanzen im 21. Jahrhundert): Rise of the South or a Second Great Divergence (zusammen mit Firat Demir). Dahi ist Mitherausgeber des E-Zines Jadaliyya, war im Redaktionskollektiv des Middle East Report tätig und ist Gründungsmitglied der Arbeitsgruppe der Beiruter Schule für kritische Sicherheitsstudien beim Arabischen Rat für Sozialwissenschaften (ACSS). Dahi ist auch Mitbegründer und Direktor von Security in Context , einer Initiative, die kritische Forschung und politische Analysen zu Schlüsselfragen im Zusammenhang mit Frieden und Konflikt, politischer Ökonomie, Entwicklung, In-/Sicherheitspolitik und Militarismus fördert, insbesondere da sie sich mit Fragen im Zusammenhang mit neuen Technologien, Mobilität, Infrastruktur, Klimawandel und Geopolitik befassen.

Adam Hanieh

lehrt in der Abteilung für Entwicklungsstudien an der SOAS, Universität London, mit einem Forschungsschwerpunkt auf der politischen Ökonomie des Nahen Ostens. Sein jüngstes Buch ist Money, Markets, and Monarchies (Geld, Märkte und Monarchien): The Gulf Cooperation Council and the Political Economy of the Contemporary Middle East (Cambridge University Press, 2018), das 2019 mit dem Buchpreis der British International Studies Association, International Political Economy Group Book Prize, ausgezeichnet wurde.

Rabab el Mahdi

ist außerordentliche Professorin für Politikwissenschaft an der Amerikanischen Universität in Kairo (AUC). Sie promovierte an der McGill University in Montreal, wo sie ihre Dissertation über die Auswirkungen des neoliberalen wirtschaftlichen Wiederaufbaus auf die sich verändernden Muster der Beziehungen zwischen Staat und Zivilgesellschaft in Ägypten und Bolivien verfasste. Ihr Spezialgebiet ist vergleichende politische Ökonomie und Entwicklung mit Schwerpunkt auf Lateinamerika und dem Nahen Osten. El Mahdis Forschungsinteressen umfassen die Bereiche Beziehungen zwischen Staat und Gesellschaft, soziale Bewegungen und Widerstand. Bevor sie zur AUC kam, arbeitete sie für verschiedene Entwicklungsorganisationen, darunter NGOs und UN-Agenturen. Sie ist auch Aktivistin bei einer Reihe von Oppositionsgruppen der ägyptischen Linken. El-Mahdi ist eine häufige Kommentatorin von AJE, BBC, CNN und ABC und schreibt für ägyptische und internationale Zeitungen.

Rima Majed

ist Assistenzprofessorin für Soziologie an der Abteilung für Soziologie, Anthropologie und Medienwissenschaften der American University of Beirut (AUB). Als politische Soziologin konzentriert sich ihre Arbeit auf die Bereiche soziale Ungleichheit, soziale Bewegungen, soziale Identitäten, Sektierertum, Konflikt und Gewalt. Majed hat an der Universität von Oxford promoviert, wo sie über die Beziehung zwischen strukturellen Veränderungen, sozialer Mobilisierung und Sektenwesen im Libanon forschte. Davor arbeitete sie als Programmassistentin und Senior Researcher beim Entwicklungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen - Büro der Arabischen Staaten. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Artikel und Op-eds. Ihre Arbeit erschien in Mobilization, Global Change, Peace & Security, Routledge Handbook on the Politics of the Middle East, Global Dialogue, Idafat: Die arabische Zeitschrift für Soziologie, Al Jumhuriya, und Al Jazeera English.

Helmut Krieger

ist Sozialwissenschaftler, Forscher und leitender Dozent am Institut für Entwicklungsstudien der Universität Wien sowie Berater bei VIDC Global Dialogue. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Entwicklungspolitik in Kriegsgebieten, der Antagonismus zwischen Israel und Palästina, Bewegungen des politischen Islam in der arabischen Welt, kritische Staatstheorien und postkoloniale Theoriebildung. Derzeit ist er Projektkoordinator von KnowWar (Knowledge Production in Times of Flight and War - Developing Common Grounds for Research in/on Syria, siehe www.know-war.net/), einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Syrian Center for Policy Research, Mousawat, der Universität Birzeit, der Universität Klagenfurt und der Universität Wien.